Books Are The New Black

Blog Tour & Review: The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes


Title: The Inheritance Games

Author: Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Publisher: Penguin Random House Children’s UK

Published: September 3, 2020

Pages: 400

Format: e-ARC, Thank you, Penguin!


Goodreads Synopsis

An utterly addictive and twisty thriller, full of dark family secrets and deadly stakes. Perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out.

She came from nothing.
Avery has a plan: keep her head down, work hard for a better future.
Then an eccentric billionaire dies, leaving her almost his entire fortune. And no one, least of all Avery, knows why.

They had everything.
Now she must move into the mansion she’s inherited.
It’s filled with secrets and codes, and the old man’s surviving relatives –
a family hell-bent on discovering why Avery got ‘their’ money.

Now there’s only one rule: winner takes all.
Soon she is caught in a deadly game that everyone in this strange family is playing.
But just how far will they go to keep their fortune?

‘A fantastic rollercoaster of a book! We Were Liars meets The Da Vinci Code. I loved it!’ Kat Ellis, author of Harrow Lake

‘A thrilling blend of family secrets, illicit romance and a high-stakes treasure hunt . . . The nonstop twists kept me guessing until the very last page!’ Katharine McGee, New York Times bestselling author of American Royals


My Review

What a satisfying book! It’s so refreshing to read a book that actually keeps me guessing until the end. I really had no idea who was responsible for what or what anything meant. I didn’t even see the twist until it was revealed to me at the end. I kept thinking I had it figured out but then nope! It was a lot of fun and I love books that really keep you guessing.

This book was really entertaining. I thought it had a great cast of characters, who were all so different but enjoyable. I loved Avery! She went from nothing to everything in a day and it didn’t go to her head. Her first instincts were how she could help others. She’s also got a lot of fight in her and I enjoyed her journey with trying to figure everything out.

The one thing that I didn’t enjoy about this book was the hints at a love triangle. I mean… there is definitely a love triangle and I really don’t enjoy those. It made for some very awkward moments. Especially, when Avery knows what happened in the past… I expected more of her when it came to the boys!

This was a really enjoyable read and I love the fact that we get some answers but a cliff hanger at the end. I know this is a series and I’m looking forward to the next book. I do appreciate that we get some clarity on things and we are not left completely in the dark.

Overall, I would recommend this to anyone that likes a mystery. There’s a lot of interesting characters that I can’t wait to know more about. I really didn’t know who to trust because so many of them were very calculating. It gave for a lot of intrigue and surprises. There’s also a lot of libraries in this mansion. The descriptions of some are just absolutely dreamy. A very enjoyable read!


About the Author

Jennifer Lynn Barnes (who mostly goes by Jen) was born in Tulsa, Oklahoma. She has been, in turn, a competitive cheerleader, a volleyball player, a dancer, a debutante, a primate cognition researcher, a teen model, a comic book geek, and a lemur aficionado. She’s been writing for as long as she can remember, finished her first full book (which she now refers to as a “practice book” and which none of you will ever see) when she was still in high school, and then wrote Golden the summer after her freshman year in college, when she was nineteen.

Jen graduated high school in 2002, and from Yale University with a degree in cognitive science (the study of the brain and thought) in May of 2006. She’ll be spending the 2006-2007 school year abroad, doing autism research at the University of Cambridge in the United Kingdom.

Thank you to: Penguin UK & TheWriteReads for an e-ARC and for being a part of this blog tour!