Review: Sense and Second-Degree Murder by Tirzah Price


Title: Sense and Second-Degree Murder

Author: Tirzah Price

Publisher: HarperCollins

Published: April 5, 2022

Pages: 416

Format: e-galley via Edelweiss+ Thanks, HarperCollins!


Goodreads Blurb

“Three of Jane Austen’s classic novels receive a murder mystery makeover in this romantic and thrilling three-book series that’s perfect for fans of The Lady’s Guide to Petticoats and Piracy and Stalking Jack the Ripper. In Sense and Second-Degree Murder, aspiring scientist Elinor Dashwood and her sister Marianne, a budding detective, work together to solve the mystery of their father’s murder.

When eighteen-year-old aspiring scientist Elinor Dashwood discovers her beloved father slumped over the desk of his office study, she knows his death means dire straits for the Dashwood women. To make matters worse, an outdated will entails his estate—including Norland & Company, the private investigation firm where her younger sister Marianne worked as her father’s partner and protégé—to their half-brother and his haughty wife, who waste no time in forcing the Dashwoods out of their home and into a cramped apartment on London’s Barton Street.

But before they go, the Dashwood sisters make a startling discovery that points to foul play, and the killer might be family.

Obviously, the girls must investigate. It could be dangerous; it could ruin their reputations; and most importantly, it won’t bring back their father. But if the Dashwood sisters can combine their talents and bring their father’s murderer to justice, it may bring them all some comfort—and it might even lead to love.”


My Review

Now, I went into this without reading Sense and Sensibility first. I do plan on reading all of Austen’s work at some point. It didn’t hinder me at all and actually had me in more suspense than the first book. Going in blind was probably a big reason for that. I’m glad to report that this was just as enjoyable as the first one! These are such fun retellings.

I loved the Dashwood sisters. they all added so much to this book with their varied personalities. Marianne is the detective that wants to take over in her dads footsteps. Elinor is the secret chemist that takes care of everyone. Margaret was actually one of my favorites. She’s the youngest but the budding novelist and has all these little funny one-liners. She’s so funny and I really want to read her book! haha.

Since I didn’t know the original story I was in for a few twists. I can’t talk about how she changed or interpreted the story but I really enjoyed it. I don’t know that the romances were the strongest points of this book but they were sweet, even if predictable. The pacing of this book is so great and flows so nicely. I read through this one so quickly and I just couldn’t put it down.

I was a little sad that we don’t get appearances of the characters I really loved in book 1. I think there are some hints to seeing them in the future, which I do hope.

Overall, I loved this cozy murder mystery! I think I can kind of see where she’s taking this series and I’m ALL for it. It’s really exciting if it’s going in the way I hope. If you want a fun and fast-paced Austen retelling then this is for you. Even if not, it is still a lot of fun and I really recommend this series!

Thank you, HarperCollins & Edelweiss+ for a copy of this arc. All thoughts and opinions are my own and not influenced by the free copy. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Review: Sense and Second-Degree Murder by Tirzah Price

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s