Spell the Month in Books: September!

I saw this over on One Book More and thought it would be a fun monthly post! I have tagged her post so you can check it out too! It was originally created by Reviews from the Stacks, and the idea is to spell the month using the first letter of book titles.

I’m just going to add a tidbit from the synopsis and whether I’ve read it or want to. I’ll link the Goodreads link on the title if you want to check it out more!

Woah!! This month was a long one to do! haha. I had trouble finding THREE new E’s that I haven’t used before!


S- Seven Days in June by Tia Williams

“Seven days to fall in love, fifteen years to forget and seven days to get it all back again… From the author of The Perfect Find, this is a witty, romantic, and sexy-as-hell new novel of two writers and their second chance at love.”

I buddy read this one with Dini and we loved it!! Great book


E-Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

“Meet Eleanor Oliphant: she struggles with appropriate social skills and tends to say exactly what she’s thinking. Nothing is missing in her carefully timetabled life of avoiding unnecessary human contact, where weekends are punctuated by frozen pizza, vodka, and phone chats with Mummy.”

I read this when it came out and really enjoyed this one.


P- Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

” The romantic clash between the opinionated Elizabeth and her proud beau, Mr. Darcy, is a splendid performance of civilized sparring. And Jane Austen’s radiant wit sparkles as her characters dance a delicate quadrille of flirtation and intrigue, making this book the most superb comedy of manners of Regency England.”

Love this Austen book so much!


T- Tea Gardening for Beginners by Julia Dimakos

This is self explanatory! lol. I bought this book and can’t wait to harvest some of my herbs before winter comes!! Love the info on this. I do have a review of it too.


E- Eye of the World, The by Robert Jordan

“The Wheel of Time turns and Ages come and pass, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades to myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the Age that gave it birth returns again. What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow.”

Is the most amazing fantasy? Nope. I did enjoy it though and I liked the show. Buddy reading it with my husband was a lot of fun.


M- The Monsters We Defy by Leslye Penelope

“A woman able to communicate with spirits must assemble a ragtag crew to pull off a daring heist to save her community in this timely and dazzling historical fantasy that weaves together African American folk magic, history, and romance.”

I loved this book. It has a wonderful cast of characters and a heist!


B- Bronze Drum by Phong Nguyen

“A stunning novel of ancient Vietnam based on the true story of two warrior sisters who raised an army of women to overthrow the Han Chinese and rule as kings over a united people, for readers of Circe and The Night Tiger.”

This is one that I was really excited for. I did like it!


E- Ex Hex, The by Erin Sterling

“New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins, writing as Erin Sterling, casts a spell with a spine-tingling romance full of wishes, witches, and hexes gone wrong.”

I have had this on my book cart for so long. I need to read it soon!! I’ve just seen so many mixed reviews.


R- Radio Silence by Alice Oseman

You probably think that Aled Last and I are going to fall in love or something. Since he is a boy and I am a girl.

I just wanted to say—we don’t.

Dini and I buddy read this one too. We were shocked to find that we did not enjoy this one! We are definitely in the minority though.


Tagging

ANYONE WHO WANTS TO DO THIS ONE!!

16 thoughts on “Spell the Month in Books: September!

  1. For The Ex Hex… meh. I’m trying to sell my copy for a few bucks and no one wants it so it’ll probably just be a donation. xD The Bronze Drum is on my list but it intimidates me tbh!
    Also not sure where else to contact you to tell you so an FYI that your social links appear to be broken on your blogroll page! They’re invisible, but the links show, though when I click them it brings me to a 404 error. The StoryGraph one works, but the alt text says Facebook. I’m trying to find your twitter handle!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Last, Now, Next Book Tag – dinipandareads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s